top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex Whaa

Lab 2 - Damien

For this lab, I drew inspiration from the previous enclosure and decided to maintain a monster-type theme for this lab as well. However, I decided to take this one in a bit of a different direction.


Circuit:

Here I show the original completed circuit evolving a push button, three resistors, and two LEDs (one blue and one RGB). I soldered hookup wire to the leads of the LED in order to extend their reach to the breadboard. I then pushed the breadboard so it was vertical and taped it so the button would be in place.


As far as problems go, I only ran into a couple obstacles in the Arduino coding, but we were able to sort that out pretty quickly.


Enclosure:

I ended up creating a bat-like monster named Damien that has two different eyes that light up based on whether the button is pressed or not. All circuitry is fully enclosed inside of Damien, with the power cord extruding from behind acting as his 'tail'. The button is placed as his belly button and when you press it, the starry eye lights up and sparkles different colors in sequence and changes with delays.


The biggest challenges of this lab had to be finalizing the full enclosure with the circuitry inside. I ended up leaving the back panel of Damien unattached so that you can go in and fix his 'guts' (Arduino/breadboard) if they're messed up. There were multiple times where certain wires would disconnect and I had to take the back off in order to repair the circuit. It was also my first time attempting the tabbed box technique in illustrator, and I honestly went into it without any prior knowledge or looking at tutorials but the product came out perfect...with a bit of sanding.







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lab 4

Project 2

For my second project, I would like to create an interactive environment that would be a type of experience like the museum Meow Wolf. The room would simulate the look of a normal, cookie-cutter bedro

bottom of page